Dedicated to Jean Woodall, it was built in 1976, using funds from her estate and donations. She taught school in Taylorville, for many years – was sixth grade teacher at Oak Street School in the 1950’s.
Upstairs showcases military memorabilia including uniforms and firearms, a Civil War Diary, and other artifacts. Also, the mantel from the home of Thomas Long, the first mayor Taylorville, along with Victorian furniture, clothing and a working Wurlitzer Reginaphone from the same period.
The basement holds three jail cells from the women and children’s section of the old Christian County Jail, an arrowhead collection, antique hand tools and farming equipment, and a display of mining memorabilia.